Billy Gibbons x Clutch Jewelry Collaboration Debuted at Phoenix Bike Week

Billy Gibbons brought a huge dose of rock and roll to Jake Owen’s performance at the American Country Awards last December in Las Vegas.  The crowd went wild as he did what he did best, dance, smile, and play the heck out of a beautiful Les Paul Guitar.  He and Jake were also rocking some Clutch Jewelry titk necklaces.  And we’ve been hard pressed to find a picture of Billy since where he wasn’t wearing his Olmec tiki necklace! Search the hashtag #billygibbons on instagram to see what we’re talking about!

billy gibbons, legend, tiki, clutch jewelry

Billy Gibbons X Clutch Jewelry Collaboation

It wasn’t long after the ACA’s that Billy reached out to Clutch about a collaboration.  He wanted a custom piece.  “My mind was swimming,” explains owner and designer Stacy Eden, “I could only imagine what crazy concept he had come up with.  He has such a creative mind!”.  Eden was flattered and relieved to find out that Billy had in mind.  “He wanted another tiki, but about 4 times the size of the Olmec tiki.  That was it.  He gave me a huge canvas to work on an a huge amount of artistic freedom.”

tiki, zz top, billly gibbons, handmade
Lono is the Hawaiian God of thunder, music, peace and rain. Hand carved and cast in AZ by Clutch Jewelry

ZZ Top Tour | Bike Week | Phoenix AZ

“We met up with Billy backstage at Bike Week here in my hometown, Phoenix after an incredible show.  ZZ Top hasn’t lost a single step after all these years.  Those guys can bring it,” says Eden with a smile.  “As soon as I saw Billy, he pointed to my bag and said ‘lets see this monster’.  I had never been so nervous and excited at the same time in my life.  I brought my needle nose pliers so that we could adjust the chain; he wanted it to rest just below his Olmec necklace, that we had custom fit to rest just below his infamous beard.  He was so gracious and excited to take pictures and show his friends.  I couldn’t have imagined a bigger honor.  I mean the man is a creative genius.  He is nothing short of a legend in my book.”
bike week, phoenix az, billy gibbons

ZZ Top Tour

The Texas trio ZZ Top is touring all over the world through September.  They’ll be back in the states at the end of July.  If you love or have ever loved rock and roll, you don’t want to miss this show! For tour dates check out http://www.ZZTop.com.

